Archives and Special Collections
- The university archives, located in the McEnery Center, consist of over 600 linear feet of manuscripts, publications, records, and artifacts. Included are thousands of images--primarily photographs and slides. Within the special collections of the Fitzgerald Library there is a substantive local history collection that provides context for the history of the university.
- The objective of the archives is to collect, arrange, describe, preserve, and make accessible all manuscripts, records, data, images, and artifacts of enduring value that document the history of the university and the university community.
- The university is indebted to Barbara Williams, Brother Paul Ostendorf, Brother Richard Gerlach, Brother Luke Herbert, and Reverend Edward Lynch who acquired, preserved, and arranged most of these records, images, and manuscripts that sustain the memory of the institution.
- Some of the highlights of the collection include the following:
Father Edward Lynch's collection on Saint Mary's college, 1922-1931
Brother J. Robert Lane's collection on Saint Mary's College history, 1910-1970
College university catalogs
Campus publications, newspapers, periodicals, and newsletters
Photograph/image collection, 1900-2003
Christian Brothers collection
Diocese of Winona collection
A Letter from Martin Luther King, Jr.
- The archives are maintained primarily for the use of the university community. Access to the collections is open to scholars and researchers upon approval of the archivist. Some collections and records are restricted. All persons who use the archives must register with the archivist and sign the Reading Room Rules agreement.
- The archives are open during the academic year on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 1:30-4:30. They may be accessed at other times by arrangement with the archivist, William Crozier.
William L. Crozier, Ph.D. University Archivist